June 29, 2009

  • quickies

    The BF sent me an NYTimes article dated Saturday that essentially said exactly what we did about Michael Jackson. We gave ourselves high-fives for that one for beating them to it. I miss writing pop culture diatribes. Perhaps I shall write more.

    Um, so I was much more upset about Billy Mays than I thought I should be. The past few Thursday mornings, Justin and I have been comparing Pitchmen notes and talking about how awesome Billy and Sully are and the whole thing happened out of nowhere, which really startled me. My little brother texted me yesterday saying “Billy Mays died” and I didn’t believe him – when I pressed him for further details, he said “he got hit on the head by plane stuff,” which was too oddly specific for him to come up with by himself. UGH. Too many people are dying young and it makes me re-evaluate my priorities, you know?

    My dad and I were Gchatting today and he said he was going to come out for the weekend with my sister and brother! This is unexpected and awesome. There may be Natalia’s Family pictures from Xanga HQ.

    You are now updated with my life. [tips hat]

Comments (17)

  • I think it’s sad how young people are dying. My mother just recently died, she was only 41 years old. You can’t take anything for granted because everything can change on a moment.

  • Word is that his autopsy came back with no signs of head trauma. Instead, he died of a pulmonary embolism. To be honest, I was a little more saddened by Billy Mays’ passing than I was with MJ.

  • @wherethefishlives - i heard it was a pre-existing heart condition. i guess we’ll have to wait for the official report

  • @Natalia - Yeah, which I kind of expected, because whenever I saw him, he always looked like the kind of person that had skyrocketing blood pressure. All that yelling and flailing of the arms…

  • YEA! I would love to see Family work pics!

    I was bummed about Billy too…

  • I didn’t even know who Billy Mays was when I first heard it on the radio :?

  • from the article: “But there is something sad about our infinite menu of options.”

    well, we lose the idea of the collective experience. that’s what michael was to a lot of us.

  • props.

    but to be fair perhaps the NY Times writer had to jump through hoops before his article could be published. something else to highlight how the times have changed and information exchange is now in the hands of the people. 
    when breaking news happen we do not turn to NYtimes and company, we turn to our fellow peers. we turn to the social network and find if someone knows someone that is near or at the event that is happening live. we turn to status updates and text msgs (i.e. airplane falling into a river and cell phone image being uploaded).

  • I was actually upset about Billy Mays too. 

  • Billy Mays was awesome. I always said the guy was a great salesman. I actually took some pointers from his infomercials and use it every day at work when I’m trying to make a sale (hooray for retail!!!). I had much respect for him. He was very much a self-made man.

    I also really liked your last post on MJ. I read it while I was on vacation in Hollywood. I got a picture of his star on Hollywood Blvd. the night before he died. It was all surreal.

  • Alas, no one is promised the next day. I just hope that when my time has come, I’ll have made a difference.

  • Yeah I didn’t believe that Billy Mays died at first too. We lost alot of great people these past months. Our hearts and prayers go out to them and their family. They shall be missed….

  • i really liked billy mays. i started liking him after that show as well. he was a cool guy. and pretty damn good looking. 

  • URGENT

     HI YA

     my font ant worken on me   xanga and nor is  private messages i dont now why kn u look in to it please xxxx happy  4th july xxx

  • HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

  • Happy Birthday Natalia!

  • (I posted here rather than on your newest post in order to not get in the way of people reading your newest post)…

    I noticed that a lot of
    images hosted on Xanga from my old posts have disappeared. They still
    appear in my photos if I view them through my private homepage. They’re
    ones that used to sit on http://i.xanga.com/ and the such. I may have
    even lost a few completely, but I’ve not done a full inventory.

    Look at
    http://popeonabomb.xanga.com/weblog/?uni-22-direction=p&uni-22-nextdate=2%2f22%2f2004+0%3a0%3a0.000#module–22
    to see a few posts where all the images are missing.

    I guess the teams migration (or whatever caused this) didn’t update the source path for images embedded in posts. Anyways, thought I’d raise my hand and let you know.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *