October 22, 2008

  • Return of The Spazzy Cupcake

    I babysit two girls on Tuesday afternoons. Yesterday, I was dragging all afternoon and the girls’ mom called me to say that I’d need to pick 10-Year-Old up at school because her bus was late from a class trip, 8-Year-Old was at a friend’s house and I needed to pick her up, fixings for dinner were in the fridge and I needed to pick up the co-op vegetables from the doorman downstairs.

    I decided it would be a good idea to get coffee beforehand and thought a red eye would be the best preventative solution.

    The barista wasn’t paying attention when he made the shot and made two instead of one.

    “Do you just want both of them?” he asked. “I made too many and I’ll just throw it out if you don’t want it.” I am not one to waste espresso.

    So I drank my two shots of espresso and my tall coffee in about ten minutes and this was the result:

    Who wants dinner? Let’s get in the cab. I have to get the turnips. Did you do your homework yet? Can you practice violin? Do you know how to play Hey Ya on the guitar? Do you want me to teach you? etc. etc. etc.

    (8-Year-Old: “What’s wrong with you? Have you been drinking?”)

Comments (24)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *