June 26, 2009

  • Can there be another Michael Jackson?

    The boyf and I were talking about Michael Jackson last night. I had experienced relative fits of incredulity as I sat on ONTD and TMZ and hit F5, F5, F5 as the reports on MJ’s condition worsened and it seemed a very real possibility that the king of pop would be dead by the end of the day, if not the hour. And he was.

    Last night, he brought up the question as to whether or not there would ever be another Michael Jackson and asserted that he didn’t think it was possible to have a pop star of such international magnitude and intrigue. I maintain that there will be – wherever there are beats and pretty girls, pop will live forever – but one is hard-pressed to find someone, aside from Madonna (and he argued Radiohead; I cited Britney), that has been able to reach cult status, reinvent himself and land success all over the world.

    Chuck Klosterman writes about shared experience in IV, his pop culture manifesto, and how because we have 600 channels and bootlegs and even the internet, where niche markets are so overserved but inevitably separated, he doesn’t think we’ll ever have a true experience that EVERYONE has seen. He says in his book that Johnny Carson’s last episode was the last time we’d have something that everyone in the world has seen. Back then it was the radio and cassettes; now it’s iPods and niche radios. It’s so personalized that the chance of having everyone see one event simultaneously is slim to none.

    That being said, the market is so segregated that it’s nearly impossible to have someone conquer the charts once, let alone thirteen times like Michael did. Billboard charts everything from Top 40 to ringtone sales; how is anyone supposed to keep up with all of it? Half the time, when you read the list of Grammy nominations, you don’t know who half the people are. Best Bossa Nova compilation? Huh? Having success in one particular category means nothing to the average person.

    And that was who MJ appealed to – from today’s pop stars to your neighbor down the street who whistled Beat It while he went out to get the paper from the end of the driveway. You could hang out in your kitchen with socks on and try to moonwalk or put on one mitten and you WERE him, even if for a brief second. His personal life made him even more bizarre; you wanted to figure him out, to see why he was the way he was. Maybe it was because he started in the Jackson 5 when he was eight – who’s ready to be in the spotlight before hitting double digits? Nobody. Maybe it was because he had an odd affinity for chimpanzees and clinging to the childhood he never got to have. He was weird, but you always wanted to know more.

    So while pop tarts and their respective hits come and go and celebrities express their love for vodka and Red Bull or eating pizza in bathtubs and posting it on Twitter, there will be a gaping hole where MJ was – keeping us confused, intrigued and dancing in our armchairs.

Comments (28)

  • very true.

  • i never realized he was THAT big, must have been before my time.

  • Justin Timberlake and Adam Lambert are probably the cloest thing we’ll ever have to the king of pop, but they won’t top him. He had some big shoes to fill, and those shoes could do a nice moonwalk, too.

  • @Dare2BDiferentt - whos adam lambert? haha

  • True

  • it’s mainly due to the fact the record wants to churn out artist for an album or two and not focus on their careers that there will be no more MJs

  • Wow, I never thought of that and I have to agree. No one could ever repeat what MJ has done. I also think that Thriller will remain the best selling album of all time thanks to the boost in sales his death will cause.

  • There will never be another!

  • I agree, the pop charts are too saturated with artists for one to really hit the magnitude that Michael Jackson did. All the pop artists today are too cookie cutter.

  • I agree; there will never be another with his combination of talent, quirkiness, and childlike innocence.  I do think there was some abuse in his early life that may have contributed to his compulsion to strive for perfection, and his trying to stay as a child for his entire life. Having been such a star so young, I think he was afraid, in some corner of his mind, that if he grew up nobody would want him anymore.

  • so, so true **throws top hat out the window**

  • Very nice tribute and great post! Thanks for sharing. 

  • Michael Jackson might’ve been a space alien, but in his prime, man, could he make hits.

  • I really like this. I’m 17 and I loved that man. Yes, he never wanted to grow up but look at his childhood! (did you know that on top of having Vitiligo, he also had lupus?)
    I love that people like you are paying respect to MJ the musical genius, not MJ, the “pedophile” like radicalrambings is doing all over Xanga. Its a shame that some people are so closed-minded.
    If anyone was up to fill in his role as King of Pop, I’d go with Justin Timberlake, hands down.

  • i was just asking my SIL what she thought would happen when Madonna kicked the bucket….
    MJ kinda freaked me out after the 80s i must admit.

  • So true… great entry

  • I have a confession to make: I didn’t watch Johnny Carson’s last episode. I’ve never seen it. I did watch the last episode of M*A*S*H, though, for what it’s worth.

  • He is irreplaceable. 

  • So the truth comes out: you’re a secret LJ user!

  • Beautifully written, and so very true.

  • @ProfessorTom - I READ IT FOR THE ARTICLES!!!

    nah i just lurk on ontd

  • P.S. I shared your post on my Facebook, hope you don’t mind.  It just expresses my sentiments exactly… and well, you write so much better than I do!  Haha.  Thanks.

  • Globally shared experience? Seriously. I was in freaking Bangladesh 11 years ago and he was a huge star even there. (So was Ricky Martin actually, but let’s not go there.)

  • @Natalia - There’s a lot that Xanga could learn from Live Journal. I think Xanga has got some nice stuff of it’s own, but I think there are areas in which Xanga (and LJ for that matter) can still improve.

    Also, I have something that isn’t exactly a bug in the new themes, but not all of the old behavior was carried over from the old layouts. I asked Justin about this but didn’t get a response. Should I message you/open a trouble ticket?

  • I just saw your new Profile Pic on my inbox list and had to come look in a larger format.  What a great picture.

  • @tracy - aww, thanks. that was my contemplative scrabble face after the boyf scored his second bingo in our game and i knew i was toast.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *