July 27, 2009

  • stop reading over my shoulder

    There is a free newspaper available every morning for New Yorkers called AM New York. This paper is good if it’s raining (free umbrella), for its lolzy letters to the editor and for its Kenken and crossword puzzles. My train ride from Hoboken to the Xangaish part of NYC is about 15 minutes, which is enough time to finish the puzzle page.

    This woman gets on the train this morning and sits next to me. She watches me do Kenken and I’m, like, whatever because nobody really does it or knows what it is so I don’t care. I start the crossword and she is reading over my shoulder the entire time. I’m left handed, so my wrist ends up covering most of the clues naturally when I’m writing, and she was craning her neck to read said clues around my arm. HELLO?!

    What is the best way to deal with this? I guess my options are…

    -be the bigger person, chill out and ignore it
    -waste a perfectly good puzzle by writing STOP BEING NOSY across the middle
    -write a text to a friend that says “this really annoying woman is reading over my shoulder, help!”
    -stand up and continue the puzzle
    -ask her if she needs something

    What would you do? I realize this is completely petty, but I get so annoyed by the human race sometimes…

    edit: okay, look at what happened to my BF this morning. from his email to me:

    I got on the B train and some guy and girl sitting next to me was watching me do the crossword, and when I finished, he tapped me on the shoulder and was like, “That’s really impressive. I’ve never seen anyone finish one of those.” I was like, ummmm…

    ARG

Comments (160)

  • Hmm, that’s a tough one. Has it only happened the one time? Or does the same lady sit next to you every morning? I’m not sure what I would do, maybe just move seats? 

  • I would probably ask her if she needs something. ORRRRRR I would stand up and find another seat. =D

  • No worries, that would annoy the crap out of me also… I would ruin the perfectly good puzzle, hahaha… if I had the guts.  In reality, I’d probably text a friend and hope she sees the text, hah.

  • @StewieIsMyHero - it’s happened before but it’s not very common…and seats are a hot commodity on the train so switching isn’t always easy (it’s more like a subway car than an actual train)

  • turn around, look her right in the eyes, and go “do you mind?”

  • I would just stare directly at her until she got a clue.

  • Look up at her, smile, and say “These are great, aren’t they.  The best part is, they’re free.  You can get one right over there … “

  • I just say “fuck off already you intrusive shitbird”, but that’s just the Bronx talkin’.

  • I would just share it with her.

  • Option 2, but Im a snot like that. ;)

  • How about, Hey lady, fuck off willya.

  • I like Sam’s idea…stare at her and see how she likes it. or fold the paper over and stop doing it until she stops looking.

  • Start writing across the page: “SHUT UP SHUT UP I AM NOT LISTENING TO YOU ANYMORE I AM NOT GOING TO KILL HER, I AM NOT GOING TO DO IT NO MATTER WHAT YOU TELL ME, BE QUIET, SHUT UP SHUT UP, STUPID FACE, YES I BROUGHT THE KNIFE…BUT I WON’T DO IT AGAIN TO MAKE YOU HAPPY SO SHUT UP!!”

  • I always read over people’s shoulders and try to do so without being noticed. Sad part is, it’s because I like reading THAT much…I have a problem.

  • There is my way and then there is your way. If you were going to handle it my way, you would have just gave her the look of death and she would have left you alone.

    But that is just me

  • @wherethefishlives - I was going to say the same thing.

  • I’d suggest striking up a conversation – ask her name, share your name…(make one up if the person is really wierd)

    find odd/interesting things about what she’s doing and bring every single one of them up.

  • I would let her but if she is really annoying and getting into your personal business, I’d ask her what she wanted.

  • Put my puzzle on pause, close it for a sec and stare at her. then ask,
     ”Can I help you with something?” 

  • I’d ask her if she wanted a copy, and then bring her one next time.

  • you should look her straight in the eyes and say “Do you know what I did to the last person who tried to steal my crossword puzzle clues…….? (whisper) you..don’t..what..to..know…”……lol Just kidding. Maybe just do what ya said and put “Stop Being Nosy” in one of the spaces…

  • I would start filling in the spaces with dirty things.. innuendos, cuss words, offensive things..Just to see if she is REALLY paying attention.. 

  • Take it as a compliment. She apparently regarded you as someone of interest who was worth paying attention to. 

  • KenKen! much more fun than sudoku, imo.

    I always think up things like that but I don’t think I’d ever have enough balls to do anything about it. Though “ask her if she needs something” is potentially dangerous; it might spark a lengthy, unwelcome conversation which would lead to you not being able to finish your puzzle at all.

    Or, take two copies and give the spare to Annoying Person whenever this happens.

  • Haha, I can guess how you feel. It’s pretty uncomfortable when strangers try to see what I’m doing. If I were in your situation, I would’ve asked them if they needed anything. Puzzles are enticing…

  • You could give the paper to her when you get off the bus and tell her where she can get her own.  Or you could tell her about your 37 cats, what their names are, and what they like to watch on television when you aren’t there to dress them up and scratch their tummies.  Pretty sure she’d keep to herself after that. 

  • A long time ago I would have sat there in agony, debating over whether I should say something or just move.  Today, I’d probably offer her the paper, or ask her for help with a clue I couldn’t get.

  • i will try to complete the puzzle as fast as i can and act smart.

  • @UR_MUSE - agreed.

    don’t be shy. it’s okay to brag sometimes. silently impress her with your kenken skills!

  • just act like she’s not there.

  • @tjordanm - lmfao. oh my, you’re funny. :)

  • I would.. move behind her… or move to a place where i’m back is against a wall..

  • I’d probably “accidentally” hit her or bump her chin with my shoulder,that might get the point across.

  • I really like the second option. 

  • Ha. I made a post like that too. Annoying as HELL. I usually inch my things away from that person – I’d just turn it a little bit towards the other way. Or else, I’d just turn around and look at that person. They usually get the message though.

  • normally I don’t give two piss, cause I do it too harhar : P

  • Ask her if she wants to help.

  • I’d be like, “can ya kinda stop breathing my air ?” hahah

  • “is there something i can help with you with, ma’am?”

  • LMAO@DRAKONSKYR

    agreed!

  • this is not petty, this is probably more legit than half the stuff i read on here.

    and it needs to be addressed.

    STOP  MAKING  LIFE  WEIRD YOU…YOU WEIRD PEOPLE YOU!

    r~

  • If she does it every morning, just flat-out look at her and ask her if she would like you to pick up a copy of the paper for her :P

  • I know exactly what you’re talking about..since I’m a New Yorker myself.
    And every morning, I see people reading over each others shoulders all the time.
    I admit, I’ve done it a few times when I’ve been in too much of a hurry to grab the paper or I simply just forgot to grab one for myself. I look over people’s shoulders while theyre doing sudoku and crossword puzzles too..and I do feel pretty bad when they deliberately close the paper or position it in such an angle that I cant see what they’re doing anymore.
    I understand how it can be a bother and get annoying too..so I dont know.
    I guess next time you could kindly ask them to stop or you could simply close the paper and finish the puzzle for another time.

  • I would give her the paper and walk away, sit in a beautiful park nearby with a new newspaper and enjoy my time… 

    Human race is going down…. not much we can do.

  • Hahaha!
    I would either:
    1. Slowly look over at her like this: o.O
    or,
    2. Fold it up and look out the window or something until she looks away. Then continue. Haha!!
    x3 Hope you can get peace in the future. =)
    Happy trails. :D

  • grab two next time and give one to her

  • I guess it varies from person to person.  I never thought it would feel like an invasion of privacy.  I’ve watch my friends do the crosswords before, they didn’t mind.  I am personally bad at them and would only get a few, so its much more enjoyable watching them do it.  But if you felt uncomfortable with her watching, you should have just asked her to not watch. And the other thing is your in a crowded public place with people packed together, your puzzle is going to be in someone’s line of sight.  So it might be a little much expecting no one to watch you do a puzzle.  Of course I think most people would be more suttle and not be jerking their head around.  If she had started making suggestions, then it would have been a whole different story.  Hopefully next time the poeple sitting around you won’t be interested in puzzles. 

  • Just politely tell her it’s making your uncomfortable for her to look over your shoulder, and ask her to stop.  No biggie.  It’s weird and annoying when people do that, but generally they just don’t realize you notice, so they’ll gladly stop when they ask you.

  • I say either start talking to her or do your best to ignore it.  Who knows, maybe you could make a friend, I’ve certainly become good friends with people from weirder beginnings.  Whatever happens it seems unlikely that she’s being THAT obvious about it with the intention of being mean

  • @StubbornFool - well… in my case… lol… if someone was looking over my shoulder… the obvious looking, not even trying to hide it, i’d probably give them the newspaper.. say “Have a blast.” Find myself a new newspaper and head to the nearest park :) (well… thats if i was in manhattan lol) 

    ^_^ 

  • I say you stop what you’re doing completely, and make her feel extremely awkward and stare at her.

    See what she does =]

  • i would just ignore it. :P i’ll never see her again anyway.

  • it’s environmentally friendly to read someone else’s paper

  • @bryantomato - yes, by far the best non-drama causing solution posted.

    just grab an extra copy. since they’re free, i’m sure they arent too encumbersome.

  • If it’s free, why don’t you grab two copies next time and offer her the extra?

  • Hi!!
    How are you??
    As a Torontonian, I’ve been to NYC last year, and I have read the New York AM. I picked up two copies on the same day, one for a souvenir and the other to cut out and scan images. Yes, strangers are nosy and they don’t really bother me that much, but as for NYC, I’ve had fun, and I do plan on going their in the future. I’m not one for puzzles, but I do like reading news and looking at the images.

    Anyways, I’m a Christian, and I’m starting a ‘Christian Friends Society’. It’s a group where people in the group can join and share the same interests. If you’d like to have a look, and possibly join, here’s the address:

    Clawbert’s Clan: A Christian Society of Friends – http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ClawbertsSocietyOfFriends/

    I look forward to hearing from you, and Good Luck, God Bless.

    Regards,
    ScoDer

  • pop a pill and relax

  • ask her if she needs something. it’ll totally get all awkward. lol

  • this has happened to me a lot.what i do is …I calmly close the book/newspaper,look at her and say WHAT???most people just look away embarrassed, one idiot actually asked me if I was done with the paper and if he could borrow it and I calmly told him what a turd he was.BUT then again…that’s just me!

  • if you have the guts, wreck the puzzle and write ‘stop being so nosey’

    she what her reaction would be!

  • I assume you’re taking the PATH train from Hoboken but I have no idea where the “Xangaish” part of NYC is. Didn’t know there was one. I’m not making fun of anyone’s comment but a lot of the comments so far are pretty obviously from people who don’t live in NYC. 
    I know AM New York but I usually pick up a Daily News and read it on the subway. It often happens that someone reads over my shoulder. If I notice someone doing that I won’t turn the page until I sense they are done reading whatever they are trying to read. That’s just me. 
    Just a few of the previous comments and again I don’t mean to make fun of anyone. It’s just that because of the crowds New Yorkers often see things differently.

    “Hmm, that’s a tough one. Has it only happened the one time? Or does the same lady sit next to you every morning? I’m not sure what I would do, maybe just move seats?”

    Now that’s funny. Maybe if you are one of the first people to hop on the PATH train in Hoboken you get a seat but in NYC the only time you get a seat is if you ride the subway at 4AM and even that’s not a given. Getting a seat is usually not an option, much less moving seats. If the same lady sits next to you in the morning I’d call the police lol. Now that would be scary.

    “I would probably ask her if she needs something. ORRRRRR I would stand up and find another seat.”
    Again with the seat lol. Also normally if you want to get everyone in a NYC subway car to look at you, say something with the slightest bit of sarcasm in your voice to someone like “do you need something?” or “do you have a problem?”. It’s almost certain to be the first sentence of a shouting match including threats and you’d better hope the person to whom you said that isn’t “carrying”.

    Put my puzzle on pause, close it for a sec and stare at her. then ask,
     ”Can I help you with something?”
    See previous…

    “Take it as a compliment. She apparently regarded you as someone of interest who was worth paying attention to.”

    I suppose that’s possible but in NYC so many people read over the shoulders of others on subways. I guess they can’t help it. A headline catches their eye and they become curious. Usually if a woman regards you as someone of interest she shows you by catching your eye with hers, not at your newspaper. 

  • I will give my newspaper to the buddy for reading,

  • human race can be irritating sometimes, but please be polite to her..

  • Tell her in your most ghetto voice, “mind yo business and quit jocking my shiet, aite?”

  • I would engage her in conversation. I would ask if she liked the puzzle..I ask for help with the clues…I would be nice…I would ask her if she needed furniture and give her my card. I’d ask if she liked cats. I would talk her ear off. I’m a Libra

    and next time I’d sit some where else.

  • Just don’t read the paper. Simple. 

  • Yeah, chill out! She’s just another person who enjoys puzzles, just like you. She sound be doing something way more irritating that might actually IMPACT your day, but instead she’s trying to solve a puzzle. Who knows, maybe she was trying to help you? I have been known the do this (but on airplanes) and I’ve done it mainly to start conversations and all that. I can get HOW it’d be annoying, I just can’t relate. Better luck next time!

  • i would probably have asked her if she wanted something.  “excuse me miss, is there anything, anything at all, i can do for today’s dose of neuroticism?”

    (>’.')>

  • fill in the crossword with stuff like this : two down , six letters – “biteme” ; or perhaps , nine across , fourteen letters – “gofuckyourself” .

  • Is this lady on your train every morning? If so, how annoying!!!!

  • text my mate saying that.
    I’ve done that before. it’s great, it almost always works.

  • I hate it when people read over my shoulder! Even if i know them, I can’t stand it. I end up throwing whatever I’m reading at them saying “READ IT YOURSELF!” My boyfriend does it all the time. He doesn’t get why it annoys me so much, but it just does.

    The proper think would be to just ignore it and move on, but I guess im just not as calm, cool and collected as I’d like to think I am. ;)

    Hope it doesn’t happen to you again!!

  • @jme012 - LOL i would so do that.

  • Tell her it’s a free newspaper and where she can find one :)  

  • look at her and continue with your puzzle. At least now she knows that you know that she’s looking over you’re shoulder. :D

  • OMG!! Good…I am not the only one! I also hate when the train is completely empty and someone sits right next to me. I normally just give them an evil look, get up, and sit somewhere else. It may sound mean, but I don’t care what they think.

    Sitting basically sitting on my lap is more rude then me moving, I think?

  • I would ask for her help with the clues… even if I didn’t need it…

    I love doing the crossword with my honey.

  • I think if it really bothered me I would just casually look over at her and say “excuse me” or “can I help you?”

    Sometimes its a nice way to start a conversation if youre feeling up to it.

  • If it’s a free paper, grab an extra copy and give it to her with a smile.

  • @Drakonskyr - oooh..the Bronx.. heeeey lol..

  • Ha! That is funny. I like the option of writing stop reading this on the paper.

    Its funny that you like the AM NY better than the Metro. I usually go for the Metro paper.  I think that someone telling your bf they’re impressed he finished isn’t so bad. The craning your neck to be able to see.. that part is a bit dumb.

    yesterday I was watching the Real World Cancun on my BB while on the subway and I could tell that the girl next to me wanted to know what I was watching. I was a bit embarrassed about what i was watching though  so i tried to hide it with my hand and stuff. pretty funny.

  • I’d stop what I was doing and start staring back = )

  • I bring along these strange puzzles where I go too. People always want to watch, so I stopped using them.  Good luck.  Good job finishing too. I don’t know enough information to do that type.

    Some creep used to read over my shoulder then taunt me. He was stupid though, so I couldn’t expect better.  He was dumb in the rude way, that is. 

  • Why not just politely ask her if she wouldn’t mind NOT reading over your shoulder as it is a pet peeve of yours.

    I know… sounds crazy… but I find generally people respond better to politeness. I’m actually pretty disappointed that out of all the comments that have been left already this is an original idea. ::shakes head::

  • Start leaning on her lolz

    No I would look over to her and ask, “Do you mind?”

  • I would say “I’m sorry, but can I help you? I noticed you were leaning over and was wondering if you needed the time” or something silly like that.

  • I would probably say “Um, can I help you?” in a tone that clearly reflected that I wouldn’t be helping them even if they were in convulsions on the floor.

  • you’re mean

  • Well it can be quite boring on the train, so I wouldn’t really mind if someone was reading over my shoulder once in a while. 

  • I’d ask her if she needed something.If you ride the same train with her often I wouldn’t want to be rude then it would be kinda awkward between you. At least when you do that you’re saying “QUIT LOOKING AT MY PUZZLE” but in a nice way. :]

  • option 5. and yay, left handers!

  • I dunno. When I was in NYC for a short amount of time on field trip, I was stuck in a group where our guardian was the father of one of the girls in the group. She was a boring kind of girl; wanted to spend hours of our free time in shops like Lids. Of course, her being the guy’s daughter, we always did what she wanted to do.

    So, if I couldn’t get the chance to sneak away and explore on my own, I got into the habit of carrying my Gameboy Advance SP with me. I get real nervous is someone’s reading over my shoulder or something; it just really bothers me. A few people I don’t get worked up about, but that’s because I trust them. I was playing a game when someone sat down next to me and started watching me play. “What game is this?” “Can I play?” “When did you start?” “Oh, that’s a cool move!”

    I bet I seemed like a bitch, because I was trying to ignore it. Finally, without trying to sound snippy, I said, “I appreciate you taking an interest in my game, but I’d appreciate it even more if you stopped watching over my shoulder.” He was cool about it though, apologized. I ended up telling him what game it was and then he left.

    But with something like a woman trying really hard to read what I’m reading, I’d eventually tell her to get her own, seeing as how they’re free. And I probably wouldn’t be all that nice about it.

  • I am never going to understand people up north. :(

  • I would turn around and tell her that she can get her own for free.

  • haha i wud *definately* waste the perfectly good puzzle. XD

  • the next time you grab a newspaper, take one for her too… and an extra pencil!

  • Listen to music and zone out to the crossword puzzle and i-pod.

    That way, you don’t have to suffer the over-bearing observations of bored passengers AND you will feel less tempted to turn around and scream, “GET YOUR OWN CROSSWORD AND KENKEN, YOU #$%(#$%^)#@$!!!”

    Perfect solution.

  • it’s freee. xD get an extra and bring it to her. lol.

  • I totally understand because I’m from the city as well, and I used to work on those crossword puzzles on the subway. I usually just ignore the person, wait until the person gets off, or change seats if there are any available. But I really don’t like it when people look over my shoulder when they know that it’s a bit rude.

  • hahah bring an extra copy of the newspaper

  • Oh dear does this happen to me all the time! I used to have this
    strange man sleep on me on the NJTransit bus. It was so disgusting
    because there were plenty of empty seats and he always chose to sit
    next to me. Creepo.

    I’ve done the “send a text” option. Didn’t work in that case until I finally released some steam and yelled at him to stop!

    But yes. You should def tell her to “back it out!” if this happens again!

  • If the she is personable tell her to try it her self ask her to get her own paper and the the next day we will compare answers. If this won’t work and seats are plentyful in that car get up and move to another. 

    If your not into that suggestion then your on your own. 

  • just be the bigger person, she is just curious right. 

  • Yeah, I’d go with direct confrontation. She may be too thick to even realize that she’s bothering you. Some people have to be told when they’re being stupid. 

  • Ask her if she needs something lol. I hate watching over my shoulder. This kid was once watching over my shoulder when I was at an ATM, i was gave them a really horrible look to show it was wrong to do that and went to another ATM.

    It really pissed me off Lol =P

    Good post. x

  • I can understand how it can be annoying.. but she’s harmless. Just curious and impressed by your puzzle solving skills. I would just smile and chuckle. Don’t be too hard on her now, haha.

  • I usually just pick up the paper and ask if they want to do it. I don’t mind the whole puzzle thing. Maybe if I’m reading, I turn the page really slowly so they can finish the sentence they are on. Nothing worse than stopping mid sentence am I right?

    If I’m not feeling especially considerate, I would turn the page and tell them they can have it when I’m done or if they want the first page what not. News is supposed to be shared, so I don’t feel any ownership to it even if I bought it. There are exceptions like if I wanted to save the article or read it later.

    Actually, I would have found the scenario with your BF to be quite pleasant. But then again, I guess everyone is different and the same goes for comfort zone. Maybe NYers are more nosy and stringent with comfort space. I do think the person matters though, if it’s a cute girl then I’d probably share it with her. If it’s a scruffy looking guy with very bad B.O. I’d probably plan an escape plan or hope we reach a stop soon.

    Next time I visit NY and I find myself peering over a woman’s shoulders, I’ll be sure to check her hand posture and ask if her name is Natalia (although she might freak out). Sorry for the long comment.

    Thank you for helping me solve my Xanga issues.

    LH.

  • Realistically, I would glance back at her to see what she wanted.. I wouldn’t say anything, I would simply turn my head and look at her until she made some flustered apology. If she said nothing, I would just turn back around and continue working.

    If the problem persisted, I would ask her to stop.

    Usually once they know you are aware of them, they stop….. that’s how it has been for me at least.

  • people do read over my shoulder sometimes. not just newspaper, but also text books and anything that i happen to do.

    how i deal with this? i just look them in the eyes and then they stop looking over my shoulder.

    i think starring back at them is usually a sign to tell them to stop reading over our shoulder.

  • i would get annoyed as well!

    xo

  • Perhaps it’s not he nicest option of those but I really like the writing “stop being nosy” across the puzzle…I mean if you have a pencil then you can very well just erase the words later. :)

  • I’d ask if i could help her with something.
    Ive had to say that before, but for other reasons.
    Its the only ‘polite’ yet obviously, ‘wtf’ way to address the situation. That i know of anyhow.

  • Continue to be annoyed and bottle up the contained rage then take it out on a loved one.

    p.s. crosswords ARE hard, okay?

  • you take the PATH train! 

  • @spyderwebb27 - on the other hand, the environment will hate you and haunt you with rainclouds and thunder (har!)

  • @tjordanm - oh, the joys of xanga comments like that =D

  • Were you able to feel her breathing on your neck? If so, turn and glare at her. If not, just ignore her.

  • I’d just move. But at least it’s a lady and not a creepy old man. Haha. & also Viewtiful_Justin had a good idea… since it’s free, just grab her one and see if the madness will stop.

  • ask her if she’s interested in about hearing about jesus.

  • Sit in a spot and put your bag next to you, so that no one can sit by you.  That bitch needs to learn that your paper is for you, not her.  

  • I might write “If you read this, return to your own business and STOP READING OVER MY FUCKING SHOULDER” in the margin to the side.

    Someone was watching me type on a computer once.  I was writing a paper for school or something, I can’t recall which.  Anyway, with a few shortkey taps, I increased the font to some ridiculous size and put it in bold, italics, and underlined it, eventually typing something to the effect of “STOP WATCHING ME TYPE, YOU OVER-DEVELOPED JIZZ STAIN” and went back to writing like normal.

  • i read other peoples text messages  as their typing I try to guess what their writing..

    No I don’t

  • HAHAHAHAHA! While not the most mature way the option to write a text would be hilarious simply to watch the look on her face!

  • I’d say just ignore her, I think that’s the best option.

  • Dropkick her.

  • Or…act wacky on her…*roar* what cha looking at huh huh huh????? hmmm??????

  • Just stare at her until she looks away.

  • Shift so she couldn’t read it at all, or ask her if there is something she wants. If she says no then tell her to quit reading over your shoulder.

  • I’d write stop being nosy above the puzzle with a cute smiley face.

  • i totally feel you. i can’t stand being on the train and having someone stare down what i’m reading. i usually just give them a death stare and hope they get the hint. haha. occasionally if i’m on a bus i’ll write a text message to my friend in CAPS, saying “the person next to me is reading over my shoulder. they need a life.” chances are, they’ll read the text too, and hopefully get the hint.

  • i really, really like the option of writing “stop being nosy” on the puzzle.
    to me, it would be entirely worth it : ) i hate nothing more than people reading over my shoulder.

  • I may ask her if she wanted to help me with the puzzle.  Did it once with Sodoku puzzle and the person answered, “no,” and stopped looking.  If the person said, “yes,” then, I would give them the direct answer – that he/she was not helping.  

  • My husband always reads over my shoulder when he sits next to me and I’m typing on the computer. It always bothers me, especially if I am writing a blog. I feel like those extra eyeballs completely destroy my train of thought; I can’t explain it. Since it’s my husband I’m usually straightforward: “QUIT READING OVER MY SHOULDER!” I tell him he can read it when I’m done. 

  • lol awkwarrrd.
    i do that to sometimes when i get bored but people should be a little discreet!

  • being the person that I am, I would give her a dirty look, and just hope that she stopped. Eventually if she kept going, I’d get up and move!

  • I usually go the texting option.  I did it today when I was taking the train home and a girl with overwhelmingly loud music sat next to me.  She actually turned it down, too.

  • lol. i get annoyed by that too.  i brought a magazine to class one day and during break i was readin it and the girl next to me was leaning over her desk reading it too!! I  was like… “are u done with that page?” hehe. n she got all flustered and settled back into her seat.  it is really annoying tho.

  • I hate it when people come and stand over my shoulder when I’m on the computer. I try to send them bad vibes but I’m not good at it apparently

  • i like both of these options:

    -waste a perfectly good puzzle by writing STOP BEING NOSY across the middle
    -ask her if she needs something

  • my dad watches what i write and its annoying lmfao

  • Just tonight this coworker who creeps me out in general started looking over my shoulder while I was texting..seriously? No I’m not writing it to you, standing right next to me–so it’s none ya! I wish I could say I gave him a strong, pointed look or told him off…but alas, in this context, I only laughed nervously and turned away to block his view..a more subtle approach.

    If it’s a random person, I like to counteract their behaviors sometimes…times 2. They’re looking at your paper? GAWK at them while leaning in to their personal comfort zone spaces. They usually get the point.

  • I’d just look at her for a few seconds, give her a fake big smile, and go HI. 

    That should give her a hint.

  • i wont lie, i have been guilty of doing the same thing. however, it was b/c during the crowded rush hour in chicago a man opened his bag of funyons and filled the air of oniony hot mess.
    i do agree it was creepy. and i vow not to do it again. lol

  • start writing predictions for when the world will end on a clear part of the paper.

  • Ask that nosy bitch if she needs something! And tell her to chill the fuck out!

  • I always grab AM New York and read it on the subway. I hate when people read over my shoulder. Normally I just ignore them but what I really want to do is turn to them and say “Yeahhhh?”

  • @radicalramblings - terrific suggestion radicalramblings!!

  • Lol. I would just stare at her.

  • en , I also want to know what should i do?

  • The human race is ALWAYS annoying.

  • You could change your profile pic and have your back to us so we could all share the experience of peeking over your shoulder.  Perhaps it will become “the thing to do”.

  • lol i would just ignore it. but my cousins like to read my text messages while i write them so i would write something about them and they’d go “HEY!” =P

  • learn how to take a compliment and get another copy for her next time you get on the train.

  • I guess if it’s a one time thing, then I’d ignore it. But if it’s constantly happening to you I guess your best guess is to be assertive and ask if they need something. Then again, you’re in a public area so you’re exposed to the world, but people also have morals and should try not to bud into people’s lives that they don’t know. It’s kinda a lose-lose situation?

  • It drives me insane when people start reading over my shoulder.

    So sometimes, just for badness, if someone reads over my shoulder for a very long time, I’ll haul out something or message something that could be taken really wrong, or could really embarrass them if they were caught spying. It turns into kind of a game to find out what will make them stop prying. It’s kind of fun, actually.

  • really nice post. I bookmarked your blog.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *