May 2, 2009

  • INFRINGER! INFRINGER! OMG

    I got an email from YouTube today saying that one of the videos I posted was infringing copyright. I apologize to anyone in Djibouti who cannot see the two-year-old video of me and my sister dancing in her room to Blink-182! I am pleased, however, that people in Tuvalu can watch while their island sinks. Here’s what the message said.

    As a result, your video is blocked everywhere except in these locations:
    American Samoa, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Cuba, Fiji, France, Germany, Guam, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kiribati, Mexico, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niue, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Papua New Guinea, Puerto Rico, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Spain, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, United Kingdom, United States, United States Virgin Islands, Vanuatu

    What should I do?
    No action is required on your part. In some cases ads may appear next to your video. If you want to make your video available globally you can use AudioSwap to replace the audio in your video with a track from our library of pre-licensed songs.

    Under certain circumstances, you may dispute the copyright claim from UMG. These may be any of the following:

        * the content is mistakenly identified and is actually completely your original creation;
        * you believe your use does not infringe copyright (e.g. it is fair use under US law);
        * you are actually licensed by the owner to use this content.

    WOW. brb looking up fair use

    edit: interestingly enough, there’s a woman who had the same thing happen – and successfully sued the record company. She posted a video of her kids dancing to a Prince song, had her video taken down and reinstated six weeks later.

    I think I might hit the Blink guys up on Twitter.

Comments (29)

  • you are a modern day pirate of the internet highway.

  • Shouldn’t they be more concerned with with real video-hijacking stuff? 

  • Banned in Djibouti. Shameful! lol

  • Maybe someone else videotaped you first, and put it on the interwebs, which is why YouTube thinks you’re infringing copyright :P  

  • All this “omg piracy! omfg people are going to steal my supercrisp songs off yootoob!” shit is effing getting out of hand, I say.

    I think it does constitute fair use, though, based on your description.

  • Whoa, this sounds like fair use to me!

  • this has been happening for quite a long time on the youtube community.. Everyone is trying to find ways around it.. haha

    Funny how I never got an email when they disabled MY video, though. Hmm.

  • they attack people’s videos on youtube all the time.  They keep it up and no one will want to use youtube anymore.  I’m growing less fond of it everyday

  • Facebook removed a video that I made of my kittens play-fighting to Radiohead on the basis of copyright infringement. Too bad it was the CD that Radiohead released for free-ish… I was going to file a counterclaim, but they wanted my address and phone number. 

  • I didn’t know by playing a song as a background music even it can’t be on youtube wow. I know Prince is very adamant about himself not being on youtube.

  • Yikes. I’ve seen heaps of videos of people dancing or singing to other people’s music! Take a look at these:

    Numa, numa (uses the song Dragostea Din Tei by O-Zone)http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=60og9gwKh1o

    Baby dancing to Shakira These Hips Don’t Lie http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mIw2sSaIjA

    And the above have millions of views and made the singers even more famous.

  • sorry to hear this. i see TONS of videos there that should be banned if that’s the case. ♥

  • Copyright is really getting out of hand.

  • you naughty bad little girl.  don’t you read the rules? LOL.

  • Hi Natalia!! Just thinking of you,hope all is well.

  • They are going to have to do a lot of deleting then. Youtube is getting a bit much.

  • “say it aint so… (i will not go…)  “

    of all the small things to nit-pick about

  • YouTube is becoming lamer by the minute, and better alternatives are gaining momentum.

  • there software is bad at detecting infringement

  • Dear Natalia,

    I think I’ve had the audio on four or five of my videos deleted because of “copyright infringement” even though I list all the music files I use and give credit. Most of the music tracks on my vids are mashups which I meticulously match to the video track.

    That’s why I’m glad I have copies of my vids on my Xanga Video blog section. It used to be that I could get around YouTube by posting the vids on Google, but now Google (which owns YouTube, as you know) is beginning to delete videos which are “infringing on copyright” as well.

    Michael F.  Nyiri, poet, philosopher, fool

  • This is going to give you that cool bad person image.  You need a tattoo also.

  • I figured out a way to get my videos back with the full music soundtrack.  There is a guy on Youtube who posted the info on how to dispute and it worked within like 15 minutes.  Let me know if you need help in getting your videos fixed.  In fact…I posted the fix on one of my older posts.

  • ugh, the UMG and WMG can kiss my ass (reasons why YOUTube is becoming such fail)

  • Maybe the hootoos didn’t like your tootsies.

    get it get it?

    HAHAHAHA.

  • oh and thanks for the TRUE :) :)

    wow that joke is still making me crack up. *pats back*

  • uh forget about the joke i made… realised that i completely got my geography wrong. I’ll re-use the joke when it’s necessary haha.

  • Best of luck to you should you decide to pursue this. The DMCA takedowns are getting quite ridiculous. 

  • These videos are protected under the Fair Use Act (USC 17 § 110; 4). I recommend people sue UMG.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *